Grad Awards

The College of Engineering recognizes student recipients of the awards and prizes at the annual Student Leaders and Honors Brunch. This page lists the award description and stipend amount for each award. For details on the nomination process and deadlines or answers to other questions, please see the Office of Student Affairs.

College Awards and Prizes

Richard and Eleanor Towner Prize for Distinguished Academic Achievement

This award is presented to the outstanding graduate student (master’s or PhD students) in each degree program. Criteria considered by the department awards committee include student’s active participation in research, leadership and academic performance (GPA). The cost sharing agreement between departments and the college to fund this award is $500 (department) and $500 (college). Departments are free to increase the amount of the award if they wish.

Marian Sarah Parker Prize

Marian Sarah Parker Prize is presented to two outstanding women (one senior and one graduate student) who have demonstrated academic excellence, leadership qualities and outstanding contributions to the university and/or community. $1,000.

College Leadership Awards

Conferred upon undergraduate and graduate students of the College of Engineering who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the college, university and community. Students nominated for this award will be automatically notified and asked to complete additional information pertaining to their experiences and understanding of leadership. The additional information must be completed in order to have your nomination considered by the leadership awards committee. All submissions are considered. Gift amount varies.

Harry B. Benford Award for Entrepreneurial Leadership

Awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student who has exhibited entrepreneurial flair and leadership ability, and who has capitalized effectively on the technological and engineering resources available in the College of Engineering. Nominees may be budding inventors or small business owners, leaders of team projects, community volunteers or student organization leaders. $5,000.

College Society Awards

Elaine Harden Award

Presented to the Engineering student organization that best exemplifies dedicated leadership and service to the community. $500.

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award

Presented to recognize the efforts of student organization advisors. This award is presented annually to honor the leadership, guidance and support advisors provide to student groups on campus. Nomination must include a minimum of two (2) one-page, signed recommendation letters from students who have worked closely with the nominee and a nomination statement regarding how the advisor has encouraged, motivated and supported the organization from the student organization’s executive board. Plaque.

omen in Aeronautics and Astronautics (WAA) members at an event


Michigan Aerospace Masters Student Awarded the Chia-Lun Lo Fellowship

Congratulations Yu Syuan Lin for receiving the Chia-Lun Lo/Rackham International Students Fellowship

Miguel Castroviejo Fernandez Announced as 2024 FXB Fellowship Awardee

PhD student awarded one of Michigan Aerospace’s most prestigious fellowships

PhD Student Joshua Eckels Awarded NASA Space Technology Graduate Research Fellowship

Eckels recognized for innovative space technology research with NASA funding

Richard and Eleanor Towner Prize for Outstanding Academic Achievement Awarded to Ruowen Tu

Aerospace Ph.D. candidate recognized for his creativity and outstanding research achievement

First Luis Bernal Memorial Student Award

Aerospace Engineering’s Ericka Mendez Velazquez is the first ever recipient of the award honoring Professor Bernal.

Iman Javaheri is awarded Beyster Computational Innovation Graduate Fellowship

Aerospace PhD Candidate, Iman Javaheri, is honored by the College of Engineering for his research, innovation, and leadership

device in aerospace lab

University of Michigan’s Plasmadynamics and Electric Propulsion Laboratory and NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory share 2022 AIAA Electric Propulsion Best Paper Award

The lab has won this award five times in the last six years

PhD Candidate Wins Outstanding Student Paper Award at IEEE CDC

Joseph Breeden celebrated for his research on “Predictive Control Barrier Functions” for controlling systems subject to stringent safety requirements.